Sherlock and UBUNTU – I wish you a very good year!

In anticipation of season three, I have been watching the previous seasons of Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss’ brilliant (ridiculously brainy) adaption of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock for the BBC (shown on Masterpiece Theatre in the United States). Midday yesterday I wrapped up by watching The Reichenbach Fall in ‘the death’ that has the Internet buzzing and in conjunction with the years’ endImage where I take time to evaluate of my failings and successes and lay them down like stocks of a good wine in a temperate cellar, I was struck by the connection to others that makes a life rich beyond compare.  In the new seasons’ teaser #SherlockLives but in his ‘death’ Gatiss and Moffat’s Sherlock has been humbled.  It is clear that he has learned the perils of standing at the center of the stage taking up too much space and making others look foolish and inept;  the hard lesson of humility has been learnt at the hand of his archenemy Professor James Moriarty and, in doing so, Sherlock became the perfect friend.  As Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and the inspiration for his protagonist Sherlock Holmes were both Scottish, and this being New Year’s Day and all, the truest song (two versions by one incredible Scotsman) of friendship and remembrance sung the world over – click here darlings!

My thoughts have a natural segue which might be less than immediately obvious – !

Twice this week (yes, and it is ONLY Wednesday!) I have been sent some variation on the observations of Bronnie Ware, as a result I am sure that I am supposed to ‘offer this up’ as as both a Happy New Year greeting and smack-down.  First received was Sasha Daygame’s video on YouTube with Croatian subtitles (coming through a Facebook message on the heels of my heart being rent in pieces from an unexpected source which only someone connected to me energetically could ‘know’ I needed at that precise moment) and then this morning via Upworthy – Jane McGonigal’s Edinburgh TED talk (“my” Croatian and Scottish messages duly noted).

Bonnie, a former Hospice nurse who in helping people at the end of their lives, came to capture these five universal regrets all prefaced with “I wish” ~

  • I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  • I hadn’t worked so hard. Image
  • I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  • I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  • That I had let myself be happier.

Please notice that each point here is about living in authenticity.

Incessant blether of all kinds can be heard (or read) about about collaborative communities, about negotiating and empowerment and agile networks but the truth is that NONE OF THAT WORKS if all of those sitting at the table are not coming at the problem to be solved (or their lives) from a place of personal authenticity.  Compromise for the sake of harmony isn’t authentic – it’s destructive.  The real danger of living without personal authenticity at a cellular level is the percolation of resentment and weariness (or cite life as ‘boring’ as Sherlock parrots throughout the series) and then every aspect of growth in our lives, our dreams and aspirations for creating good for the planet are undermined.

There’s a story floating around Facebook and the Internet in general about the philosophy of UBUNTU (here Nelson Mandela explains) it is perfect for conveying the connection endemic to our human condition – even as so many of ‘us’ fail to feel it at the cellular level.

ImageAn anthropologist proposed a game to the kids of an African tribe. He put a basket full of sweet fruit near a distant tree and told the kids that whoever got there first would win the fruit. When he told them to run they all took each other’s hands and ran, then sat down together to enjoy their treats. When asked why they had run as one when one of them could have had all the fruits for him or herself they said, ”UBUNTU, how can one of us be happy if all the other ones are sad?”

UBUNTU means: “I am because we are.”

Auld Lang Syne has been sung since Robert Burns’ 18th century Scotland, we all live and die (at some point) with many or with few regrets – with vast numbers of friends but very likely less than five will ever be those that you can (or should Imagebelieve you can) truly ask for help as Benedict Cumberbatch in playing Sherlock does toward the end of his character’s ‘life’ of Molly.  In our global village, where we are all connected in “I am because we are” your highest level of personal authenticity is necessary far beyond self, your integrity has huge rippling effects on the energy of everyone and everything and it is incumbent upon you to ‘be’ in fullness of being.

Please, go make 2014 the best not only for yourself but for the rest of us as well.

If you enjoy my blog please share it with your friends on Facebook, Google+ and Twitter – I am @TeresaFritschiTo order my print or ebook from Amazon, please click on the cover art of my book, ebook also available through Barnes & Noble and Lulu, thank you! 

3 thoughts on “Sherlock and UBUNTU – I wish you a very good year!

  1. Pingback: Sherlock: 10 Stories We’d Love To See Adapted | Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  2. Pingback: Nanotechnology and coffee filter paper, clean water for all! | teresafritschi

  3. Pingback: Politics, NOT as usual, Croatia’s presidential candidate Ivan Vilibor Sinčić | teresafritschi

Leave a Reply

