Blessings

waningThere is a time when very few are conscious, when, regardless of whether you dwell in a city or the country, in an hour after the moon sets, the stars pale and before dawn breaks when quietude reigns. When the air, heavy with overnight moisture, lifts from the Earth and its respite from carrying birds and insects and airplanes and children’s amusements, reaches through an open window and caresses my face like a the butterfly kisses bestowed by a child and I feel gratitude for my awareness and the blessing of such a simple grace.

As I lie nestled in my bed I return to the habit of mentally offering a Lord’s Prayer and a personal variation on the Prayer of Jabez… Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request. This is how I start each day for I sleep with my windows open no matter what time of year it is.

It doesn’t matter what you think, what Prophet or gods you supplicate yourself to, or in the absence of ‘believing’ at least take these quiet moments to be grateful for the experience, for waking yet another day, for having another opportunity to get “it” very right or at least not screw up too badly. To hold the exact promise of renewal as a ritual healing dance across your brow still heavy with sleep – oh, this is to live in mindful sensuality and dwell in the house of gratitude.

ImageIf you by chance live by the sea, then rise at this hour amidst the darkness and light – the place between – and walk to the ocean to smell the rich salt and seaweed, the remnants of the tides, froth left upon the sands like that of a dry cappuccino in a porcelain cup.  Sense the beginning of the day rather than actually “seeing” it – close your eyes, breathe in deeply and feel your place in the Earth and her request of you to do no harm but also to give something of yourself – to heal.

DSCN0039Settle your bare feet into the edge of the surf and sinking wet depths of sand to pull the energy from the Earth into your being and be humbled at the power you bear witness to in this hush.  Before you pull yourself from this reverent meditation as old as time the sky will lighten, barely, imperceptibly, fragmented light in the East not yet apricot or gold but the ink of whelks and then of periwinkle.  This is the purest form of connecting to everything else there is, where mythology and religion, quantum physics and love converge – where you and I find synchronicity and amplification and at-one-ment.

Oh yes, do. Do come to a place of mindfulness and reverence and feel the pre-dawn breath of the Earth cover your aching body and fill your soul with renewal.

If you enjoy my blog please consider ‘buying me a cup of tea’ in your currency via PayPal to livelikeadog@gmail.com and then, please do share the blog with your friends on Facebook, Google+ and Twitter – I am @TeresaFritschiTo order my book, please click on the cover art of my book below, thank you! 

AllThatINeedbizcardartfront

Leave a Reply

